PORCUPINE TREE - In Absentia (2lp-180 Gram/gatefold) (2LP)



Stock ON order with supplier

Date of release: Mar 09 2018

PORCUPINE TREE - In Absentia (2lp-180 Gram/gatefold) (2LP)

Two of the most popular Porcupine Tree releases, In Absentia and Deadwing,
have been acquired by Kscope and will be given reissues on vinyl, with new CD
editions to follow later in 2018. For the first time since their original release,
they have also been remastered by PT songwriter and frontman, Steven
Wilson. The new mastering has considerably less compression and limiting for
a more dynamic listening experience.
Deadwing was Porcupine Tree's eighth studio album, first released in
2005 following their breakthrough with In Absentia, it was the second in a
run of 3 albums that for many represent the pinnacle of the band's artistic
achievements. It also continued their new-found commercial success to
become their top selling record at the time. It has been unavailable on vinyl for
many years.
Based on a screenplay written by Steven Wilson and director Mike Bennion,
about half of the songs were started with a view to being part of the score to
that film, but when the film failed to move into the production stage, Wilson
instead made them the foundation for the next PT album, with additional
material written in collaboration with the other band members. The album
features the classic singles: "Shallow" and "Lazarus", the latter of which
Wilson still performs live with his current band. Other popular songs from the
album include "Open Car" and "Arriving Somewhere But Not Here".
In Absentia was the band's seventh studio album, first released in 2002, and
was the first in a run of 3 albums that for many represent the pinnacle of the
band's artistic achievements. It was something of a breakthrough for the band,
selling three times more than previous releases. Following on from 2000's
Lightbulb Sun it had a distinctly heavier tone, partly due to the addition of
legendary drummer Gavin Harrison, and was also their first for major label
Lava / Atlantic Records. In Absentia features many of Porcupine Tree's most
loved songs including "Trains", "The Sound of Muzak" and "Blackest Eyes".
While not a formal concept album, many of the songs have common themes
related to serial killers, youthful innocence gone wrong, and observations of
the modern world, setting a template for many of Wilson's future songs.
These new vinyl editions will be released on double heavyweight audiophile
180g black vinyl presented in gatefold packaging.

1.Blackest Eyes
3.Lips Of Ashes
4.The Sound Of Muzak
5.Gravity Eyelids
6.Wedding Nails
8.The Creator Has A Mastertape
9.Heartattack In A Layby
10.Strip The Soul
11.Collapse The Light Into Earth


PORCUPINE TREE - In Absentia (2lp-180 Gram/gatefold) (2LP)
Cat No: KSCOPE985
Barcode: 802644898513
Packaging: 2LP

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Nerve Gas users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category