PORCUPINE TREE - On The Sunday Of Life (2LP)



Stock on order with supplier

Date of release: Jun 16 2017

PORCUPINE TREE - On The Sunday Of Life (2LP)

Porcupine Tree's 1991 debut album On The Sunday Of Life is an album that stands up as a modern day pop-psych
With acid warped lyrics courtesy of Alan Duffy (the brains behind the late lamented Imaginary Records label) the album is
a surreal delight containing gems such as "Jupiter Island" and "Linton Samuel Dawson" filled with quirky melodies,
effected vocals and trippy backwards guitar work. "Nine Cats", the undoubted masterpiece of the album, is pure Edward
Lear styled psychedelia.
On The Sunday Of Life also hints at the direction the band would later take with more progressive influenced material such
as the epic "Radioactive Toy".
Following the now sold-out first box set of Porcupine Tree's Delerium Years, and the near sold-out second box set,
Kscope are re-releasing the band's records from the era, including On The Sunday Of Life, as a series of LPs presented in
gatefold packaging. This edition of the classic record has been remastered by Steven Wilson and uses the original
analogue tapes rather than the digital copies made in the early 90's used for all previous editions. Kscope are releasing On
The Sunday Of Life as a double LP pressed on to 180g heavyweight vinyl this June.
Steven Wilson is currently enjoying global chart success with his fourth solo album Hand. Cannot. Erase., is continuing to
tour worldwide, and released the anticipated new album from Blackfield, his partnership with Israeli singer Aviv Geffen, in
February 2017.
'Refreshingly original ? a wonderful musical adventure' Record Collector
'A debut disc of unearthly delights? deadly seducing stuff' NME

Side 1
1.Music For The Head [02:40]
2.Jupiter Island [06:08]
3.Third Eye Surfer [02:48]
4.On The Sunday Of Life [02:07]
5.The Nostalgia Factory [07:29]
Side 2
1.Space Transmission [02:59]
2.Message From A Self Destructing Turnip [00:27]
3.Radioactive Toy [10:00]
4.Nine Cats [03:54]
Side 3
1.Hymn [01:16]
2.Footprints [05:51]
3.Linton Samuel Dawson [03:04]
4.And The Swallows Dance Above The Sun [04:03]
5.Queen Quotes Crowley [03:50]
Side 4
1.No Luck With Rabbits [00:47]
2.Begonia Seduction Scene [02:18]
3.This Long Silence [04:58]
4.It Will Rain For A Million Years [10:53]


PORCUPINE TREE - On The Sunday Of Life (2LP)
Cat No: KSCOPE959
Barcode: 0802644895918
Packaging: 2LP

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Nerve Gas users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category