SIX FEET UNDER - Crypt Of The Devil (CD)



In Stock - Ships within 24 hours

Date of release: May 08 2015

SIX FEET UNDER - Crypt Of The Devil (CD)

Six Feet Under and Chris Barnes have been constantly evolving since the release of the companion albums "Unborn" (2013) and "Undead" (2012). Barnes, a longtime Florida resident, has relocated to the more 420-friendly confines of the pacific northwest; specifically Seattle, WA. In his new locale, he completed work on the eleventh full length effort from Six Feet Under. The resulting album, "Crypt of the Devil," represents another new incarnation of the band with the assistance of a fresh songwriting perspective.

With "Crypt of the Devil," Chris Barnes has worked to continue the overall story from the previous works, wherein he is penning lyrics from the perspective of a serial killer. Or as Barnes describes, it's a "winding journey through his mind. The songs paint a picture that's not necessarily linear, rather a meandering back and forth through a dark soul."
Soon-to-be-classic cuts such as "Open Coffin Orgy" serve as exemplary examples of the fruits of Barnes' macabre muse. Barnes exclaims, in his reserved, soft spoken way, that "it's kind of spiritual, in a way to write lyrics for these albums. When you sit down and try to puzzle together these stories from different elements, and write an entire song without lifting the pencil from the paper, it really is truly fun." Crypt of the Devil, Barnes claims, almost wrote itself in how easily it all came together.

Recording for the album took place at Phil Hall's studio in Virginia. Hall tracked rhythm and bass guitar, while his brother Josh Hall tracked drums, and guitarist Brandon Ellis tracked the majority of the album's leads. Chris Barnes took to London Bridge Studio (Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains) in his new base of operations in Seattle to record vocals. Chris actually holed himself up in the very same booth where Layne Staley tracked vocals. The mix was completed by Rob Caldwell in Sarasota, FL, and mastering was done by Alan Douches at West Westside.

Crypt of the Devil stands as a truly collaborative and cross-country effort from a selection of today's finest metal minds, and the result is a refreshing Six Feet Under experience. Or as refreshing as brutal, gory death metal can be, anyway.

2.Open Coffin Orgy
3.Broken Bottle Rape
4.Break The Cross In Half
5.Lost Remains
6.Slit Wrists
8.The Night Bleeds
9.Compulsion To Brutalize
10.Eternal In Darkness


SIX FEET UNDER - Crypt Of The Devil (CD)
Cat No: MBL153712
Barcode: 39841537123
Packaging: CD Regular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Nerve Gas users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category