Stock ON order with supplier

Date of release: Feb 22 2019


Mazy Fly, the second full-length by the Bay Area artist SPELLLING, explores the
tension between the thrill of exploring the unknown and the terror of imminent
destruction. Chrystia Cabral spent the summer of 2018 in her Berkeley studio
reflecting on the thresholds of human progress and longing for a new and better
tomorrow. She was struck by the way the same technologies that have given
humans the ability to achieve utopian dreams of discovery have also brought the
world to the precipice of dystopic global devastation. Despite the darkness of this
reality, Mazy Fly is defiantly optimistic. It is a celestial voyage into the unknown,
piloted by Cabral.
Each song on Mazy Fly enshrines distinct sentiments within this imagined voyage,
from the deeply personal ("Hard to Please Reprise") to the cosmic (aliens travel
to Earth to hear music on "Real Fun"). "Haunted Water" is an intensely heavy
song about the memories of colonial violence that haunt the historical slave ship
routes of the Middle Passage. "Under the Sun" is a cosmic prayer for good fortune
that sees the potential for radical newness in our own lives in the births of stars.
Mazy Fly musically traverses the spaces between languid, honey-soaked vocals and
distant angelic whispers, from thumping 808 club beats to crunching tape loops,
and from silky, smooth R&B to whirling organ sonatas. Cabral became enamored
by the idea of flight as a harbinger of both progress and apocalypse, and that
was expressed in the textures and compositional techniques she utilized. Swarms,
flocks, flies, angels, spaceships, flying saucers - all are represented sonically by
Cabral and her Juno-106 synthesizer.
"Secret Thread" is the key to this motif, and the heart of Mazy Fly. When Cabral
saw her puppy Cooper running gracefully around an open field, she imagined
a winged spirit moving through her new music. She named the spirit, and the
album, Mazy Fly

1.Red (2:14)
2.Haunted Water (4:47)
3.Hard To Please (2:08)
4.Golden Numbers (2:45)
5.Melted Wings (1:53)
6.Under The Sun (5:56)
7.Real Fun (3:34)
8.Hard To Please (Reprise) (3:35)
9.Afterlife (5:25)
10.Dirty Desert Dreams (2:33)
11.Secret Thread (5:07)
12.Falling Asleep (2:46)


Cat No: SBR221LP
Barcode: 843563110119
Packaging: LP Regular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Nerve Gas users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category